Saturday, November 9, 2013

Emi Lost and Found Series by Lori Otto ~Review


This is a special, one-volume collection of the Emi Lost & Found series books: Lost and Found, Time Stands Still and Never Look Back.

This collection also contains two bonus short stories, based on the series.

LOST AND FOUND (book one) - When artist Nate Wilson falls in love, he falls hard. The problem is, he’s only been in love once, and the girl of his affections is his best friend, Emi Hennigan. In high school, the two bonded over painful breakups, and swore off a relationship to save their friendship. Thirteen years later, Nate has had more than his share of emotionally-unfulfilling, sexual relationships with beautiful women to distract himself from his true romantic feelings.

When a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity takes Nate away from his friend and his comfortable lifestyle, he is forced to reflect on the distinct void that Emi’s absence leaves in his life. To Nate’s surprise, Emi has a similar experience; but as the friends embark upon their journey toward happiness together, destiny reveals other plans for Emi.

TIME STANDS STILL (book two) - Depression threatens all the relationships in Emi Hennigan’s life after a near death experience leaves her injured and feeling alone in a world she barely recognizes. On a night that is supposed to signify a new beginning in her life, she loses everything she loves.

It’s on that very same night, though, that Emi has a chance meeting with a man from her past who has the power to bring her more happiness than she’s ever known. Jack Holland is on a mission to rescue Emi from the pain that’s been consuming her, but his patience is tested as Emi holds on to the memory of the only man she’s ever truly loved.

NEVER LOOK BACK (book three) - Jack Holland finally has everything a man could want. After a lengthy courtship that has required persistence and self-restraint, Emi Hennigan– the woman Jack has been fantasizing about since college– has fallen in love with him. Together, the couple sets out to create their own happily-ever-after.

It’s only when Emi delivers some unwelcome news that Jack begins to question everything about the woman he loves. It will take a considerable amount of understanding and sacrifice for Jack to accept the future Emi can offer him– a future he never imagined for himself.

Ten years after his first encounter with the woman of his dreams, Jack espies Emi across a hotel lobby and reflects upon the missed opportunity of the one night they had together in college. In an effort to redeem himself, he attempts to rekindle the flame that had been ignited between them. Just as the two share a moment that leaves them both breathless, Emi's reality catches up to her.

In the last moments of his life, a man cherishes all the moments he had with the woman he loves.


* This review is on all three books. I tried really, really hard not to include any major spoilers but it is very difficult to summarize this series without doing that.

And the award for making me do the UGLIEST CRY EVER while reading a series goes to Lori Otto! Definitely one of my favorite series ever! Me and my book besties were discussing the series....if Lori didn't personally experience some of the things that happened in this book then she is plain and simple a master at making you feel emotions.  I felt every single emotion as if I was Emi.....the emotions were soooo strong I literally had to put the book down for several days and come back because my grief was so intense.....I COULD NOT BREATHE!!!! Overall rating for the entire series, 4.5 emotionally, intense stars!!!

Book 1- Lost and Found

This is the story of Emi and Nate. The two have been best friends for years.  They have watched each other grow into adults, all while having feelings for each other.  Nate's feelings are stronger than Emi's...Emi is more in denial but she soon discovers that there is do denying what she feels for Nate.

Through it all, they fight their feelings.  Nate dates other women because he doesn't want to ruin his friendship with Emi.  Emi gets hurts and is jealous.  Time and Time again, they push the other away and it is heartbreaking and frustrating to watch, when you just know these two are meant to be together.

After multiple setbacks, it seems that things may be starting to look up for these two.  Will Emi and Nate's friendship survive? Can these two get their crap together? Can they be more than just friends? Then Wham.....Holy Cliffhanger!!!

“one transcendent kiss
that later makes lovers take
soft breaths, holding hands”

Book 2- Time Stands Still

Best book of the series, the one I was most affected by and definitely the hardest to summarizes without spoliers.

I just want to say.......WWWHHHHHHYYYYYY? *insert hysterical, snotty sobs*

And please have several boxes of tissues handy because your heart will be crushed to smithereens! I think I literally cried for days straight while reading this book. I even had to put the book down for several days just to breathe.

In Time Stands Still, Emi is trying to pick up the pieces of her life and move on after it has just been shattered. Her sole reason for living has been taken from her and she is literally living in the a nightmare.  How do you get up everyday and face life when it means nothing anymore? With the help of her family and friends Emi tries to move on from her loss but experiences a lot of tears and heartbreak but maybe...maybe Emi may eventually find joy in one person.

Book 3- Never Look Back

Ahhhhhhh after having our hearts crushed, Lori puts the pieces back together again!

Never Look Back is the conclusion to Emi's story and the characters we have become so invested in their lives and grown to love.

Emi has faced the demons that has came along with her tremendous lost and she still has things to work through but she is doing this daily with Jack's help.  Of course, things can not go easily for Emi and the one thing she and Jack really want, she finds out is never going to happen. Once again, Emi is left trying to figure her life out again.

Emi and Jack's relationship is tested, but Emi is strong, and with Jack there beside her, their love can overcome anything. I was sad to see this series end, and while my heart may still be a little sad, I am happy to see Emi become the amazing, strong woman she has become.

Final thoughts 

PLEASE Read this series please! Don't judge it by the cover because this series is FANTASTIC....emotional, heart-breaking, intense, touching, invigorating......a MUST read!

*Reviewed by Brandi

Buy Link

No comments:

Post a Comment